W&L Women's Cross Country's Hollen & Dager Earn Major ODAC Honors

Sarah Hollen '22 accepting her Rookie of the Meet honor.

FOREST, Va. — The Old Dominion Athletic Conference released its special awards for women's cross country on Thursday, and Washington and Lee first-year Sarah Hollen (Palmyra, Pa./Palmyra Area) garnered the Rookie of the Year award, and Head Coach Michael Dager was named the Coach of the Year.

Hollen earned Second Team All-ODAC laurels with a 14th-place finish in 24:02.50 at the conference championship on October 27. She also received the Rookie of the Meet honor. Hollen went on to take 64th at the NCAA South/Southeast Regional on November 10.

Dager led the Blue and White to its fourth straight ODAC title this fall and had five runners earn all-conference accolades. W&L then claimed third at the NCAA Regional, finishing just one spot away from receiving an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

The Generals had three runners earn First Team All-ODAC honors by finishing in the Top 7 at the conference championship. The group included seniors Samantha Yates (Birmingham, Ala./St. Paul's School) and Maggie Seybold (Cockeysville, Md./McDonogh School) and junior Katie Bearup (Arvada, Colo./Ralston Valley). Junior Julia Moody (Houston, Texas/St. John's School) and Hollen each made the second team by finishing in the Top 14. Yates, Seybold, Bearup and Moody all went on to receive all-region recognition.

Hollen is the eighth runner in program history to be named the conference's Rookie of the Year and the first since Moody garnered the award in 2016. This is the fourth straight season Dager has been named the Coach of the Year. Sophomore Kaitlyn Johnson of Lynchburg earned the Runner of the Year honor.

-- www.generalssports.com --