W&L Announces 2015 Athletic Department Awards

W&L Announces 2015 Athletic Department Awards

LEXINGTON, Va. -- The Washington and Lee Department of Athletics held its annual athletics award ceremony at Lee Chapel on Tuesday evening.  The event, made possible by the generosity of the Brookby Family, honors student-athletes and administrators who have made the 2014-15 school year a tremendous success.

Headlining the awardees were seniors Aaron Jeong (Federal Way, Wash. / Thomas Jefferson) and Sonja Meighan (McLean, Va. / Flint Hill), who were selected as the “Pres” Brown Outstanding Senior Male and Female Athletes of the Year as voted on by members of the department.

Senior tennis player Christopher Hu (Ridgewood, N.J. / Ridgewood) and senior track & field athlete Jillian Katterhagen (The Woodlands, Texas / The Woodlands) received the William D. McHenry Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards, while basketball player Clayton Murtha (Dallas, Texas / Highland Park) and golfer Mary-Frances Hall (State Road, N.C. / Elkin) were presented the Outstanding First-Year Male and Female Athlete Awards.  Senior basketball player Patrick O’Connor (Richmond, Va. / Douglas Freeman) was selected as the winner of the Wink Glasgow Spirit & Sportsmanship Award.

Jeong was a four-year letterwinner for the men’s track & field team, serving as a team captain for his senior season.  He was a three-time ODAC Champion, seven-time All-ODAC honoree and two-time NCAA Championship qualifier.  He won the ODAC Championship in the 100 meters as a senior and was a member of the ODAC Champion 4x100 meter relay team as a sophomore and junior.  He will graduate holding school records in the 60 meters (6.90), 100 meters (10.65) and with the 4x100 meter relay team (41.24).

Meighan also earned four letters and was a captain of the tennis team her final campaign.  She was a four-time First Team All-ODAC honoree in both singles and doubles and is the first W&L athlete and just the fifth athlete in ODAC history to be named the ODAC Player of the Year all four seasons.  The 2015 ITA Atlantic South Region Player of the Year, she was also named the ODAC and Atlantic South Rookie of the Year in 2012.  The six-time All-American carries a 70-22 singles record and an 82-17 doubles mark.  She teams with senior Patricia Kirkland (Charleston, S.C. / Ashley Hall) to form the most successful doubles partnership in school history with a record 65 wins (65-16).

Hu received the McHenry Male Scholar-Athlete Award after earning four letters as a member of the tennis team.  The biochemistry major was a seven-time All-ODAC honoree, earning first team laurels in both singles and doubles three times.  A Johnson Scholar and member of Phi Beta Kappa, he finished his career with a 40-25 singles record and a 61-21 doubles mark.

Katterhagen was the female recipient of the McHenry Scholar-Athlete Award after a four-year career with the track & field team.  A captain as a senior, she was a six-time ODAC champion in the pole vault, racking up a total of 10 All-ODAC citations during her career.  The history and politics double-major also competed in the 60 meter hurdles, the 100 meter hurdles and the long jump, and she was a member of the 4x100 meter relay team.  She holds the school record for the outdoor pole vault at 3.60 meters.  She is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and Omicron Delta Kappa and she serves as a University Peer Tutor.

Murtha was named the outstanding first-year male after lettering for the basketball team.  He played in all 27 games and ranked second in the ODAC in scoring with an average of 17.4 points per game.  He shot 53.6 percent from the floor and 79.0 percent from the foul line and also averaged 6.1 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game. Murtha earned First Team All-ODAC honors and he was named the ODAC, VaSID and D3Hoops.com South Region Rookie of the Year.

Hall received the outstanding first-year female award after lettering in golf.  She has played in all 16 of the team’s rounds to date and leads the ODAC with a 77.69 scoring average.  Hall finished in the Top 10 of every tournament she played in and has two wins during the course of the season.  She won the ODAC Championship Preview and the Callaway Gardens Intercollegiate, and she finished fourth at the ODAC Championship in helping lead the Generals to the title.  She was named First Team All-ODAC, along with ODAC Rookie of the Year and ODAC Player of the Year.

O’Connor was named the winner of the Wink Glasgow Spirit & Sportsmanship Award after a four-year career with the basketball team.  He played in 92 games over his career, averaging 5.3 points, 3.6 rebounds and 1.4 assists per game.

Other awards that were presented on Tuesday included the J.L. Lefty Newell Award for the top student manager/worker and the R.E. Chub Yeakel Award, which is given to a member of the University community who has made outstanding contributions to the Department of Athletics.  Senior Eddie Barnes (Ashburn, Va. / Broad Run) was the recipient of the Lefty Newell Award, while former facilities staff member Charles Updike was presented the Chub Yeakel Award.  Junior Meera Kumar was voted to receive the Dick Miller Physical Education Scholarship.

Barnes was voted the Lefty Newell Award winner after serving as a volunteer assistant football coach after his playing career was over.  Updike received the Chub Yeakel Award for his work maintaining Cap’n Dick Smith Field and the Turf Field, while Kumar received a scholarship for having completed the University’s physical education requirements as a model student.

Numerous additional team awards were given out during the course of the evening.  For a complete listing of the Washington and Lee major department and team awards, simply download it here.  You can also view and download the event program and insert

-- http://www.generalssports.com --