W&L Places 18 Athletes on the All-ODAC Swimming Team

W&L Places 18 Athletes on the All-ODAC Swimming Team

FOREST, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference announced its all-conference swimming teams on Thursday afternoon and Washington and Lee was well-represented after claiming its sixth consecutive league title.

Sophomore Caroline Hamp (Avon Lake, Ohio / Elyria Catholic) was selected as the ODAC Swimmer of the Year, while senior Delaney Rolfe (Dallas, Texas / Highland Park) claimed the Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award for the third straight season.  First-year Emma Swabb (Erie, Pa. / McDowell) was honored as the ODAC Rookie of the Year.

All told, the Generals claimed 12 first team selections led by Hamp, Rolfe and Swabb.  They were joined by seniors Izzy Brassfield (Greensboro, N.C. / Greensboro Day School), Colleen Moore (Ridgefield, Conn. / Ridgefield) and Brittany Ross (Chatham, N.J. / Chatham), juniors Meredith Hardy (Cary, N.C. / Athens Drive) and Lauren Kasoff (Owings Mills, Md. / Saint Paul's), sophomore Hannah Melkun (Fredericksburg, Va. / Stafford) and first-years Stephanie Foster (Columbia, Md. / Long Reach) and Meredith Murphy (Cary, N.C. / Athens Drive).

Sophomore Mary Gabe (Mequon, Wis. / Homestead) was joined on the second team by first-years Liz Platt (DuBois, Pa. / Dubois Area) and Sarah Schaffer (Wheaton, Ill. / Wheaton Warrenville South), while seniors Rachel Mensch (Edina, Minn. / Edina) and Kelly Mae Ross (Endicott, N.Y. / Maine-Endwell), sophomore Sydney Gay (Henrico, Va. / Henrico) and first-year Grace Duncan (New Canaan, Conn. / New Canaan) were all third team honorees.

Last year's Rookie of the Year, Hamp helped set two school records at the ODAC Championship meet on February 8-10.  She swam on the winning 400 medley relay team that finished in 3:59.99 and helped the Generals set a school, ODAC and meet record in winning the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:48.11.  Individually, she also won the 100 fly with a school-record time of 58.52, finished second in the 200 back (2:12.56) and third in the 200 IM (2:13.51).

An accounting and business administration major, Rolfe received the conference's top academic honor for the third time after swimming on the winning 400 free (3:35.64) and 800 free (7:52.87) relay teams and claiming the 500 free (5:12.29) at the conference championship.  She also notched a second-place finish in the 200 free (1:57.12) and a seventh-place finish in the 100 free (55.16).

Swabb garnered the Rookie of the Year Award after setting three school records at ODACs.  She competed on two winning relays and took first-place in two individual events.  Swabb swam on the winning 200 free relay team that set a school, ODAC and meet record with a time of 1:37.15, and competed on the winning 400 medley relay team.  Additionally, she won the 200 IM with a school-record time of 2:09.93, won the 400 IM in a school-record time of 4:40.25.  Swabb also finished second in the 200 breast with a time of 2:29.43.

Brassfield earned first team honors via finishing second in the 50 free (24.51) and 100 free (53.85) at ODACs, while Moore placed second in the 1650 free (18:00.52).  Brittany Ross earned first team laurels by winning the 200 fly (2:10.71), breaking her own school-record and the meet record in the process.  Hardy won the 200 free with a school-record time of 1:55.73 to garner first team recognition, and Kasoff landed on the first team after finishing second in the 400 IM (4:41.17) and the 200 fly (2:11.26).  Both times broke the previous school records, while her 200 fly time broke the previous meet record.

Melkun won the 100 breast (1:07.84) and 200 breast (2:27.23) to garner first team recognition, and Murphy earned first team laurels in her rookie campaign following a second-place finish (1:00.15) in the 100 fly.  Foster earned first team honors when she won the 100 back with a time of 1:00.26.

Gabe earned second team recognition by finishing third in the 200 breast (2:32.56) and fourth in the 100 breast (1:11.32), while Platt finished third in the 200 back (2:14.67).  Schaffer placed third in the 50 free (24.75), the 100 free (53.88) and the 200 free (57.45).

Mensch was a third team honoree based on a sixth-place finish in the 200 fly (2:19.28) at the conference championship.  Ross placed sixth in the 1650 free (18:25.55), while Duncan finished fifth in the 200 back (2:15.76) and sixth in the 500 free (5:23.07).  Gay finished fifth in the 1650 free with a time of 18:23.04.

Washington and Lee totaled 1,000 team points to claim its 23rd conference championship in the program's 28 seasons of varsity competition.

-- http://www.generalssports.com --