W&L Women's Swimming Honored by ODAC

W&L Women's Swimming Honored by ODAC

FOREST, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference recently announced its all-conference women's swimming team and W&L led the way with nine first-team selections and 17 overall honorees.

In addition to its nine First Team All-ODAC selections, W&L placed eight swimmers on the second team. Sophomore Delaney Rolfe (Dallas, Texas/Highland Park) was tabbed as the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while classmate Kelly Mae Ross (Endicott, N.Y./Maine-Endwell) earned the Bonnie Kestner Sportsmanship Award.

Randolph-Macon junior swimmer Sarah Almond was named the Swimmer of the Year, while first-year Tracilyn Babington was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year and head coach Ben Delia earned Coach of the Year accolades.

Rolfe was joined on the first team by senior Tess Hayden (Wilmette, Ill./New Trier), juniors Jocelyn Cassada (Charlotte, N.C./Charlotte Country Day) and Dana Fredericks (Yorktown, Va./York), sophomores Krista Camp (Media, Pa./Episcopal Academy), Ann McCampbell (Oklahoma City, Okla./Casady School) and Brittany Ross (Chatham, N.J./Chatham) and first-years Lauren Kasoff (Owings Mills, Md./Saint Paul's) and Michelle Szymczak (Chevy Chase, Md./Chevy Chase). Senior Becky Guynn (Salem, Va./Salem), juniors Joanie Hudak (Boxford, Mass./Masconomet), Katie Salvati (Roselle Park, N.J./Mount Saint Mary Academy) and Erin Schwartz (Laytonsville, Md./Stone Ridge), sophomores Izzy Brassfield (Greensboro, N.C./Greensboro Day School) and Stephanie Krasnov (Chapel Hill, N.C./Chapel Hill) and first-year Rebecca Lawrence (Wayne, Pa./Conestoga) all joined Kelly Mae Ross on the All-ODAC Second Team.

An ODAC and W&L scholar-athlete, Rolfe garnered First Team All-ODAC honors for the second-consecutive season in addition to her Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolades.  Rolfe competed in the 500 free (5:14.58), 200 free (1:58.30) and 200 fly (2:13.27) at the conference championships in Christiansburg last month, finishing second in all three events. She also helped the 400 and 800 free relays to second-place finishes with times of and 3:38.41 and 8:06.89, respectively.

Kelly Mae Ross earned the sportsmanship award and second team honors for the first time in her career. She swam in four events during the conference championships, finishing fourth in the 1,650 free with a time of 18:36.69, eighth in the 500 free in 5:32.92 and ninth in the 200 free, touching in a time of 2:01.97, while also helping the 800 free relay to a second-place finish (8:06.89).

Hayden swam to two second-place finishes at the conference tournament in the 100 (1:00.65) and 200 back (2:13.84). Cassada claimed event victories in the 100 back with a time of 59.71 and 200 back (2:09.33), while Fredericks finished second in both the 100 (1:07.94) and 200 breast (2:30.09), setting a school record in the 100 breast. Camp notched a second-place finish in the 400 IM (4:53.66), McCampbell finished tops in the 1650 free (18:03.05) and Brittany Ross took first in the 100 fly (59.85) and 200 fly (2:12.20), and second in the 200 IM (2:15.93). Rounding out the first-team honorees was Kasoff, who finished first in the 200 IM (2:14.17) and second in the 100 fly (1:01.45), and Szymczak, who was the top finisher in the 400 IM with a time of 4:49.46.

On the second team, Guynn finished third in the 100 fly (1:02.58), Hudak took third in the 1650 free (18:22.58), Salvati touched in fourth in the 200 IM (2:18.35), and Schwartz notched a fourth-place finish in the 100 breast (1:12.07). Brassfield swam in three events, taking fourth in the 50 free (25.14) and fifth in the 100 free (55.49) and 200 free (2:00.73), while Krasnov swam to a fourth-place finish in the 100 fly (1:02.98) and Lawrence took fourth in the 100 free (55.28).

Washington and Lee finished the 2010-11 season with an 8-3 overall record en route to earning its fourth-consecutive conference title and 21st in program history.