All-ODAC Women's Lacrosse Teams Announced

All-ODAC Women's Lacrosse Teams Announced

FOREST, Va. – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference announced its 2013 All-ODAC Women's Lacrosse teams and Washington and Lee had four players honored. 

Head Coach Brooke Diamond O'Brien was named the ODAC Women's Lacrosse Coach of the Year after leading the Generals to their fourth straight conference title and a 7-3 record in ODAC play.

Junior Leanne Stone (Darien, Conn./Darien) was the lone first team honoree, while juniors Meade Brewster (Brookside, N.J./West Morris Mendham), Katie Hagen (West Chester, Pa./Notre Dame) and Olive Waxter (Baltimore, Md./Roland Park) each garnered Second Team All-ODAC honors. 

Stone paced a defensive unit that recorded the second-best goals-against average (8.58) in the league en route to earning her third all-conference honor. In 18 appearances this season, she registered a team-high 53 ground balls and caused 22 turnovers.

Brewster started all 18 games for the Generals, collecting 40 points on 34 goals and six assists as a midfielder. She was tabbed to the All-ODAC Second Team for the second-straight year after notching a team-best 69 draw controls, while also adding 34 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers. 

In 18 starts this season, Hagen leads W&L's scoring with 29 goals and 21 assists for 50 points to earn her first all-conference honor. An attacker, she also grabbed 23 ground balls and caused nine turnovers.

Waxter assisted Stone in the defensive third, starting all 15 games she appeared in. She helped the defense hold opponents to 165 goals this season, and added 23 ground balls, 23 caused turnovers and 14 draw controls. 

Guilford attacker E'leyna Garcia was named the ODAC Player of the Year, midfielder Katherine Francis from Lynchburg garnered Rookie of the Year honors and Randolph-Macon senior midfielder Rachel Johnson collected ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolades.

The Generals earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament and will play 10th-ranked York (Pa.) in first-round action on Wednesday at 3:00 pm.


-- --