Dick Szlasa to be Inducted Into the IMLCA Hall of Fame

Dick Szlasa to be Inducted Into the IMLCA Hall of Fame

AVON, Conn. – The Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) has announced that former Washington and Lee men’s lacrosse coach Dick Szlasa is among seven individuals selected to be inducted into the 2017 class of the IMLCA Hall of Fame.

Szlasa served as the Generals’ head coach from 1968-72, registering a 33-23 (.589) overall record and coaching W&L players to 13 All-America citations.

After posting a 3-15 record across his first two seasons, Szlasa guided the Generals winning records in each of his final three years.  His 1970 team went 8-3 overall, while the 1971 squad posted a 10-2 mark.  The 1972 team finished 12-3 and the season culminated with the program’s first-ever appearance in the NCAA Championship, falling to Johns Hopkins in the opening round by a score of 11-5.  That helped lay the foundation for a stretch of seven straight appearances in the NCAA Tournament, including trips to the semifinals in 1973, 1974 and 1975.

Szlasa left W&L for the U.S. Naval Academy following the 1972 season and he coached the Midshipmen for 10 years, leading them to an 85-44 record and an appearance in the 1975 National Championship game.  He later became the athletic director at head lacrosse coach at Drew University, leading the lacrosse program to a 40-29 record from 1983-87. 

A 1959 graduate of the University of Maryland, Szlasa was an All-America player and a participant in the 1958 North-South All-Star game.  He went on to teach and coach lacrosse in the Baltimore school system for seven years, before taking over as head lacrosse coach at Towson for the 1967 season.  After posting a 6-3 record, he departed Towson for W&L. 

Other members of the 2017 IMLCA Hall of Fame class include Dave Cottle (Loyola University of Maryland and University of Maryland), Avery Blake, Sr. (Swarthmore College, University of Pennsylvania), Tom Hayes (Drexel University, Rutgers University), Sid Jamieson (Bucknell University), Jack Kaley (New York Institute of Technology) and Morris Touchstone (United States Military Academy, Yale University).

The ceremony will take place on Friday, December 8, 2017 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront. To purchase tickets, visit www.IMLCACoaches.com.

-- http://www.generalssports.com --