W&L Places Four on the Academic All-District Football Team

W&L Places Four on the Academic All-District Football Team

LEXINGTON, Va. – The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) released its 2012 Capital One College Division Academic All-District Football squad on Thursday afternoon and Washington and Lee had four players selected to the 23-member team.

Juniors Brett Murray (Lookout Mountain, Tenn./Baylor School), Stephen Peck (Grosse Pointe, Mich./Cranbrook-Kingswood ) and Greg Barton (New York, N.Y./Dalton School), as well as sophomore Jake Rudolph (Cordova, Tenn./Memphis University School) were all tabbed to the academic all-district team and will go onto the national ballot where they will have a chance at earning Academic All-America honors.

Murray was named to the academic all-district squad for the second-straight year after starting all 10 games at running back and totaling a conference-best 1,561 all-purpose yards and 12 touchdowns.  An environmental studies and business administration double-major, he rushed 128 times for 867 yards and nine touchdowns and caught 25 passes for 378 yards and two more scores.  He also returned 13 kickoffs for a 24.3 average with another touchdown.

A journalism major, Peck started all 10 games at linebacker, amassing 46 tackles and finishing second in the ODAC with 6.0 sacks for a loss of 39 yards. 

Barton, a studio art major, started all 10 games as a defensive end and posted 25 tackles, one sack and one interception. 

An undeclared major, Rudolph logged 23 tackles and four pass breakups after playing in 10 games as a cornerback.

Washington and Lee finished its regular season with an 8-2 overall record and a 5-1 mark in conference play.

The criteria for the Capital One Academic All-District program states that a player must be of sophomore academic standing, be a starter or important reserve and claim a GPA of at least a 3.30 on a 4.0 scale. Washington and Lee is a member of District V, which includes players from small colleges in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.