Bienemann Named a Finalist for the Jostens Trophy

SALEM, Va. -- Washington and Lee senior forward Greg Bienemann (Chatham, N.J./Chatham) has been named one of the 10 finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary motto of "Service above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well‑rounded Division III student‑athlete. This year's class marks the 11th year the award has been presented.

Final ballots are due no later than Mar. 7, with the winning schools notified on Mar. 10. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thu., Mar. 20 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the Men's Division III Championship being hosted in Salem, Va., on Mar. 21‑22.

Bienemann has had a stellar senior campaign, helping the Generals to a 15-10 overall record and an 11-7 mark in the ODAC -- their best season since 1989-90. He ranks 27th in Division III in scoring (21.7 ppg) and 22nd-nationally in field goal percentage (.598). Bienemann also averages 7.3 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 0.8 blocks per game. He has scored in double figures in 23 of W&L's 25 games this season, including four games of 30 or more points.

A First Team All-ODAC selection last season and an Honorable Mention All-ODAC pick as a sophomore, Bienemann currently ranks seventh all-time at W&L with 1,556 career points. He can move into fifth place with just 37 more points.

Joining Bienemann as men's finalists are fellow ODAC player Ben Strong of Guilford, Piedmont's Jake Baldwin, Jimmy Bartolotta of MIT, Andrew Olson of Amherst, Kent Raymond of Wheaton, Troy Ruths of Washington (Mo.), Anthony Williams of SUNY-Plattsburgh, Tyler Winford of Mississippi College and Trevor Wittmer of Gustavus Adolphus.

Women's finalists included Leigh Ann Burke of DeSales, Colleen Feeney of Bridgewater State, Liz Hickey from Mary Washington, Lindsay Ippel from Millikin, Nikki Lobach of Messiah, Tarra Richardson of McMurry, Megan Scheele of Edgewood, Katie Streck from Wilmington, Jess Vadnais of Gustavus Adolphus and Katelyn Whiton of Simpson.